Homemade Toasted Coconut & Hazelnut Granola

IMAG0690 I’m a big lover of the breakfast granola, especially the kind that this cute little health food store I know of does – coconut and hazelnut. Which are two of my favourite foods by far and mixed together they honestly make the PERFECT combination of nutty and sweet. However the cafe itself doesn’t sell the granola and they says it made in store – thus sent me on the not so epic adventure of finding a homemade version!

I stumbled across Casey’s recipe and thought it would be worth checking out and go my was it worth it! This recipe is not only easy to make but it has the perfect amount of crunch, sweetness and nuttiness without being overpowering! I have been having this daily since I made my first batch (and actually gave quite a bit away to a girlfriend who loved it as much as I did) and will be onto my second batch in the next few days.

IMAG0692

I like to use the granola as a topper for my greek yoghurt, or just grab a handful as a trail mix snack on the go! I also think it would go down nicely with some milk topped with fruit – the options are endless!

Anyway enough with the rambling and onto the recipe!

Ingredients: (this makes a MASSIVE serve so feel free to half the recipe)

2.5 cups rolled oats (I didn’t have any but quick oats worked well!)

½ cup pumpkin seeds

1 cup hazelnuts

1 cup shredded coconut

 ½ cup coconut oil

½ cup honey

(feel free to add any other nuts or seeds you choose)

Preheat your oven to 140°c and combine all your dry ingredients into a bowl. Add coconut and honey to a pan and simmer on low until fully melted. Pour mixture all over dry ingredients and be sure to work it through until all the dry ingredients are wet. Line tray with baking paper and grease thoroughly (or its a pain in the butt to get off!). Bake the granola for 30 minutes or until golden. Let set out until cooled and store in an airtight container!

&Your done! If you don’t like your granola to be in chunks then be sure to separate it slightly with a spatula after you remove it from the oven. Otherwise let its set until cool and you will have lovely chunks!

I am so pleased with how this turned out! it is so delicious and is a winner with my hubby too!

What is your favourite flavour or granola?

Thankyou for stopping by

Love Always Jess xx

Leave a Reply

