Staying Motivated is Hard…

images-11

The title truely says it all today – staying motivated is hard.

If your like me (and every other human being ) at one time or another you are going feel motivation slip at some point in your life for something you want. This doesn’t necessarily have to be about fitness, it could be about a career your pursuing or a goal you are trying to reach such as a degree or a good exam mark – anything! Sometimes in life we find ourselves wanting to give up because its easier – but nobody ever got anywhere by giving up…

So todays post is going to be some thoughts on how to stay motivated to achieve your goals!

1.Set Goals
The first way to achieve your goals is to set yourself goals, but make sure they are realistic! Now this could be wanting to lose a certain amount of weight by a certain date, or by finishing a certain amount of words in your essay by a certain time – or even completing all 60 days of insanity 😉 Setting yourself goals gives you something to look forward to and work towards – its your map to success.

2.Be Persistent
If you want something, the only person who is going to give it to you is yourself, you have to work for what you want and sometimes that means being persistent, it means not giving up when times get tough. You have to really push yourself towards that goal and remind yourself why your doing what your doing.

3.If you fall – Get back up
Part of success is failure. But you only ever truely fail if you don’t get back up, dust yourself off and try again. If you get 99 knock backs for something and give up, you never know if that 100th opportunity could’ve been the one you got? If you feel like your struggling – take a minute and then get back in full gear. Everyone fails sometimes and its okay – just learn from it and move forward.

4.Look at how far you’ve come
Sometimes we get so focused on the goal that we forget how far we have come from the beginning. I know that with my weightless I sometimes get very disheartened, I feel like I’m not where I should be and I look in the mirror and just feeling fat & ugly – but looking at old photos of myself, before I started on my journey, helps me to remember how much of a difference I have made in my life and how far I have actually come and usually this gives me the kick in the butt to motivate me to keep going.

5.Get a good support network
Whether this be a workout buddy to do your challenge with, a friend with similar goals or even just your family and friends who support you – these people will be your lifeline when you are feeling down about yourself. They will help remind you of what you are capable of and how far you’ve come when you can’t see it. You need to get rid of toxic people in your life, people who only give you bad energy and who bring you down are only going to make the climb to the top a lot harder. Surround yourself with positive people that care and support your dreams – These are the people that will give you the momentum to keep going!

6. Yes you can
I can’t count how many times I have been told that I can’t, or that i will never be able to do something. I have even found myself believing that – thinking I can’t do something. But you know what – yes you can. You can do anything you want with your life if you work for it. Prove everyone who ever said you couldn’t wrong! You are better than you think and more capable then you could ever imagine if you put your mind to it!

7.Just one more
This is particularly for fitness goals but can be adapted to many others. When I am feeling like I can’t do anymore crunches, squats or burpees, I just tell myself “just one more” and usually after that one I find I can do another and another. Sometimes just giving yourself that micro-goal pushes you to a point where you realise that if you put your mind to it – you can achieve it, you just have to dig a little deeper and push a little harder.

8.Take a deep breath
This comes from a place of meditation and relaxation. As a person who can be quite anxious at times, sometimes it is crucial to just stop and take a deep breath ( or a few) This allows your body and mind to fully oxygenate and hopefully give you the micro-break that you need to keep going. Taking breaks is nothing to be ashamed of, in fact its a necessity sometimes in order to go further.

9.Your worth every step – even the baby ones
Challenges can sometimes make us feel as if we are incapable of succeeding. They seem like impossible feats that no matter how hard, we try we can’t seem to reach the top. Unfortunately this can make you feel worthless – but I promise you every step that you take towards your goal is a step closer to what you want, even if it doesn’t feel that way.

10. In the end it has to be for you
Motivation is something that comes from deep within, it is when things get hard and your at the point of breaking that you need to find the fire inside to keep going. Starting something to please or impress someone else will often end in your fire burning out – unless you find yourself wanting it for you. You are the only person who can truely motivate you, you need to find the spark inside and keep it lit. Even if it starts for superficial reasons or for someone else – I truly hope by the end you have found a love for yourself that rivals that and that can be the driving force to keep going!

You will achieve your goals if you truely want them!

Being motivated is hard – but you and your goals are so worth it – I Promise!

How do you stay motivated?

Thank you so much for reading

Love Always Jess xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Staying Motivated is Hard…

Leave a Reply

