Healthy Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

 I love bananas. But I didn’t use to. In fact I was never a big fan of bananas until about 12 months ago and now I love them! My love of them extends to using them in my cooking and today I had some brown ones sitting in my fruit bowl that were in desperate need of being baked into something. So I decided to bake some healthy chocolate chip breakfast brownies.

IMG_0120

Before we jump into the recipes firstly I want to share my new haircut! If you read my post yesterday, you know that Ive had itchy feet lately when it comes my hair and I was looking for a change. Cue tumblr stalking short haircuts and a quick dash to my favourite hairdressers. I walked out happy and with a fresher look! In fact my hairdresser had to talk me out of going shorter! (I may still change my mind ;))

Unfortunately I have been unwell the past few days so I felt like banana muffins would pick me up and true to form they are delicious. These even got a thumbs up from the hubby – who is a self pronounced healthy dessert judge.

This recipe originates from Katies blog, of course!

What you will need (makes 16):

IMG_0118
Preheat oven to 195°C

– 2 1/2 cups cups rolled oats
-1/3 cups dark chocolate chips
-1/2 tsp salt

Combine in a bowl and set aside

-1/8 cup & 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil
-1/2 tsp vanilla essence
– 2 1/2 tablespoons of honey
– 1 & 1/4 cup of water

IMG_0117
Combine well & mix in with dry ingredients before spooning into greased muffin trays. Bake for approximately 21 minutes and let cool. Muffins can be frozen and thawed for eating at a later date – perfect breakfast for those on the go.

IMG_0125

These muffins are not only delicious but they are super healthy!

What is your favourite breakfast for on the go?

Thank you so much for reading!

Love Always Jess xx

Leave a Reply

