The Truths Of Pregnancy

I’ve been thinking about writing this post for a few weeks now, I haven’t had the easiest of pregnancies (although I know I haven’t had the worst either), and I was really shocked by some of the things that happen in pregnancy thatI wasn’t warned about or even aware of.

I am someone who loves to research, I will read for hours about something I am not familiar with to become an expert (in my own mind of course) to an extent I am happy with and that solidifies my understanding of a topic – and when I found out i was pregnant was no different.

I read hours and hours of articles, blogposts, books and forums on all the things I should expect during pregnancy and thought I was prepared, but I don’t think anything care prepare you! But I want to share a few things through my own personal experience that I have come to learn in pregnancy.

Morning Sickness Is a Lie
T
hink about everything you think you know about morning sickness forget it, because let me tell you – It is not “morning” sickness so much as “all day and night” sickness, that can hit you randomly at ANY point during the day. You could be feeling 100% normal and BAM hits you like a steam train. While I will admit mine is definitely worse in the morning , it is also horrible the evenings! Also “morning” sickness can have different triggers – for myself its not eating regularly ( or pretty much constantly) and eating certain foods but I know for some woman eating AT all can be a trigger – completely opposite situations resulting in the same sequences of events (nausea, vomitting, curled up in a ball in foetal position etc). And finally “morning “sickness was promised to disappear around the end of my first trimester, and boy did I hold out for that day (counted down really!) – which came…and went…with no changes at all. I am now over 25 weeks and still suffer from the symptoms of “morning” sickness and have just resigned myself to being one of the woman who is going to have it her whole pregnancy. 

Your perception of people chances
This makes sense to me when I think about it, and it may be something exclusive to me, but I feel like a lot of pregnant woman probably have the same epiphany when it comes to people in your life. I find myself now wanting to spend time with people who are supportive, loving and excited for me (which I think is normal for ANY human) but I also find myself losing tolerance for people I am beginning to consider “half-assed” friends – You know the ones, they only contact you when it suits them and they’re always “too busy” when you make the effort, replying hours or days later because everyone else seems more important than you – because you’re the convenient friend whose always there. Well to be honest I am finding myself a lot less tolerant of these people in my life because I see it as only wanting reliable people in my life and my little boys life when he joins the world! I’m seeing how important it is to surround yourself with the right people in my pregnancy and in my life.

Pregnancy can be VERY uncomfortable
This is something I guess I never gave much thought to, pregnant women always look so glowing and beautiful, it never occurred to me they are probably uncomfortable. Now don’t get me wrong, its not like I’m in horrific pain or anything (that is cause for concern and should be discussed with your midwife/obstetrician!) But I am suddenly becoming aware how heavy and stretched my stomach is getting, I am finding it harder to sleep, sit comfortably for any length of time, roll over, get out of bed or pick things up! I’m also feeling braxton hicks (which are practice contractions that aren’t painful but are VERY uncomfortable and tight around your abdomen) and have increased my need to used the bathroom by like DOUBLE! Pregnancy is definitely not as glamorous as it looks!

You will cry – A LOT!
You hear a lot of things about “emotional pregnant women” But its not until you’re in their (kinda tight) shoes that you really understand the incontrollable instability that is their emotional system. Now I’m not a super emotional person, I’m not a big crier unless I have real reason to be upset, however the past few weeks have been crazy dollar coaster of emotions. Even reading something on Facebook or my poor husband saying the wrong thing can set me off on an explosion of irrational tears! And following on from that – the emotional rollercoaster that is my mood swings are seriously unstable and I often find myself asking why I am angry or crying while doing it! Really overwhelming feelings that I was NOT prepared for!

Your self-esteem is definitely at a low
I have spent the last few years of my life trying to dedicate it to being healthy, exercising and eating well for weightless and body confidence. Fitting into clothes I have never in my adult life been able to wear confidently and comfortably, being able to see changes in my body and muscle tone grow. Now the idea of pregnancy is to be growing your body – getting bigger (especially in the middle region!) to accomodate for this growing human being, and while in theory that is a beautiful process – you are literally growing a living breathing human being from a cluster of cells INSIDE your body – in practice it can be a severe hit to you self image. Your suddenly EXPECTED to put on weight and get bigger when all our lives we have been told that smaller is better. Clothes no longer fit and your wardrobe begins to shrink and consist of the bare minimum – which to be honest isn’t all that cute! This has been a real challenge for me and while I have tried to stay active as best I can during my pregnancy (damn you constance nausea!) and eat as well as I can, this has been one of the things that has been a real challenge for me and I have found myself many times in a state of relentless struggle or even in tears over how my body looks and feels and I wish someone has prepared me for it.

There are so many more things I could talk about – if you want a Part 2 please let me know!

I don’t want this post to come off ungrateful for my pregnancy, I couldn’t feel more blessed that we are going to be having a child and am SO incredibly thankful for my growing little human – but shedding some truth on pregnancy (or at least MY pregnancy) was something I wish I could’ve found when I was looking!

Thank you so much for reading and supporting me!

Let me know if you found something in your pregnancy that you didn’t expect!

Love Always

Jess xx

One thought on “The Truths Of Pregnancy

  1. sarahfoord says:

    That sucks that you’re still having trouble with “half-assed friends”. You know how easy it is to forget/dismiss people when things aren’t always 100%. Try not to get too down, you have people who care, even if you don’t know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

